RSS

A Kid with Asperger’s Pays It Forward and I Smear My Mascara

22 Feb

I could not sleep last Thursday, February 17, 2011. I was awake until 4AM Friday morning, fretting, thinking, rethinking, analyzing, and regretting. I tried all of those cliched home remedies — warm milk (I’m not a fan of milk, so that was my level of desperation), melatonin (6mgs when I usually take 1mg), reading in low light, boring television, counting sheep, a deep breathing routine. Nothing. I hadn’t been that anxious about something in years.

Earlier that morning, I visited Christopher’s house. Well, I thought I was visiting Kim, Christopher’s mom. We were going to talk about Camp Confidence, a camp I started last year for kids with AS. When I arrived, I asked my customary question: “Do you want me to take off my shoes?” Kim laughed and said not to worry. Then, I looked up to see Christopher and his brother. “Why are you guys home?” I asked. Kim said, “It’s a special day off from school.” I joked, “If you guys keeping have special days off, you will be going to school well into June.” (We’ve had a lot of snow in Kansas City, which is akin to saying the North Pole has a lot of 80 degree days.) I was ushered into the dining room and, then, bam! camera in my face. You see (or you will see in the clip, please click here) that the special day off from school was for me.

All day and all night, I reviewed every answer to every question I was asked in my head.  In hindsight, I cringed at some of my responses. I downright groaned at others. I hoped and prayed for editing because I wanted Christopher and all of the clients I serve to be seen in the best light.  I realized  that light for me is not best when attached to the end of a television camera and shoved directly next to my face. But, I had this opportunity to speak for them, and, well, I laid in bed knowing I could have done better.

To watch that video, though, was perfect. I’m not the star, and I have never wanted to be. The light, you see, shines brightly for and on Christopher. He is a star, the star. I didn’t need to worry about what I said because he said it better. Better than I could ever have imagined.

I am simply proud, honored, and blessed to know him, his brother, and his family. Thank you, Christopher.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2011 in ASD in the Grand Scheme

 

5 responses to “A Kid with Asperger’s Pays It Forward and I Smear My Mascara

  1. Sharon Lee

    February 23, 2011 at 8:22 AM

    This is a great story, and what a wonderful way for Christopher to pay it forward. He has such a beautiful big heart!

    As a parent with an autistic teenager, I interact with a lot of other parents with special needs children. Many often feel that they deserve to receive everything, but few actually think of how they can share what they have (experience, resources, time, money, knowledge etc) with others who may need it more than them.

    Way to go, Christopher!

     
  2. pookiepookison

    February 24, 2011 at 8:10 PM

    That was awesome!
    My favorite part was when Christopher was handing you the money with that beautiful, dramatic song in the background. “One.” “What?” “Two.” “WHAT?!”
    Oh perfection! And I thought you said that was embarrassing!Awsome is a better word to describe it.

     
  3. Kristen Hagen

    February 24, 2011 at 9:40 PM

    Smart boy, great teacher, you’re fantastic!
    ~Kristen

     
  4. fluffinear

    April 13, 2011 at 12:13 PM

    as a mother of a boy with Aspie I thank you for all you do!

     
  5. Daniella

    August 11, 2012 at 11:47 PM

    When I was young, I tried to do the same thing and damn near killed myself.

     

Leave a Reply

 
