RSS

Keep Your Clothes on Jenny; Autism Awareness is Better than That

27 Oct

“I would [pose nude again], for like, $2 million towards autism,” Jenny McCarthy told Access Hollywood. “Yeah, I might do something like that again.”

I could say that if Jenny McCarthy is willing to expose and sell her body for a cause, then we should all be willing to make such a sacrifice. But, in reality, is the autism community that desperate that we want a woman to essentially prostitute herself?

Like it or not, Jenny McCarthy is one of the well-known faces of the ASD community. Temple Grandin is the other. Temple Grandin engages in grassroots campaigns around the country, talking to people in small and large towns and encouraging people with ASD to find and utilize their talents. When Temple speaks, you know that she respects her diagnosis as much as she respects neurotypicality. They are separate but equal. Temple demonstrates the beauty, the value, the resiliency, the passion and compassion, and the strength of the spectrum.

In contrast, Jenny has never promoted as positive of a ring about ASD in my mind. When I listen to her, and I admit I try not to, I hear words like cure and recovery. Subconsciously, I don’t feel as much love radiate for the spectrum. I recognize that one of the biggest differences is that Temple has an ASD diagnosis herself, whereas Jenny is a mother of a child with ASD. But, one is not better or worse, more helpful or less helpful, or more compelling or less important than the other.

Jenny has brought amazing attention to ASDs. She’s championed causes that have raised money and awareness. But Temple has generated acceptance, respect, and admiration. Her actions are entirely about bringing positive energy and positive attention. I’m just not sure nudity has the same value and worth. I understand that $2 million is a high price tag, but I’m not sure ASDs are for sale.

Then again, maybe, beggars can’t be choosers? I’m just not sure we are beggars.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 27, 2010 in ASD in the Grand Scheme

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Keep Your Clothes on Jenny; Autism Awareness is Better than That

  1. Dorian Tenore-Bartilucci

    October 29, 2010 at 12:28 PM

    Sheesh, is there nothing people won’t sex up nowadays? I guess people figure any way one can get autism/Asperger’s research into the public eye is a good one. I’ll admit I don’t have a problem with nudity for a good cause; I’m just saying let’s be careful not to cheapen the message.

     

Leave a Reply

 
