RSS

A Compliment Is Not Always Obvious

27 Oct

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2010 in Pookie

 

3 responses to “A Compliment Is Not Always Obvious

  1. mosaicofminds

    October 28, 2010 at 2:08 PM

    Interesting, and kind of surprising to me. “I want to borrow your sweater” seems like a less literal interpretation than “That sweater looks good on you.” Did this actually happen to one of your clients?

    (Anecdotally, though, I’ve noticed the aspies in my life aren’t that good at taking compliments).

     
    • jholverstott

      October 29, 2010 at 10:03 PM

      Reponse from Pookie re: “Did this actually happen to one of your clients?” Yes. I was at a peer’s house and she came out of her closet bragging about a new sweater, which was very ugly IMO. But, I had to say that it was pretty so that she would accept me. Then, she told me that I can’t borrow it and I wasn’t sure what to think of it. So, I “Pookied” it and showed it to Jeanne for her opinion.

       

Leave a Reply

 
