RSS

My Top 10 Opinionated Facts about ASDs

27 Sep

The list compiled below are personal facts not substantiated by data, research, or any other autism-oriented organization.

1. ASDs have and likely will always exist within humanity. Prior to Kanner and Asperger, we obviously had other names — like “quirky” — that only rendered it impossible to give these individuals their credit for the gifts they have given our world.

2. Individuals with ASDs are fiercely proud of their diagnosis. They should be. Taking it away is akin to asking for an “unwanted” limb.

3. NTs are not superior to anyone, let alone aspies and auties.

4. The idea that individuals with ASDs lack empathy was obviously a “symptom” “noticed” by an NT who was wanting in the area of empathy him/herself.

5. Etiology should not be as big of a priority as awareness.

6. Online dating should be taken more seriously for individuals on the spectrum looking for a significant other.

7. AD/HD and anxiety are part and parcel of an ASD, not simply co-morbid conditions.

8. You have used something today made possible by individuals with autism spectrum disorders.

9. Person first language is a must, not an option — even on Twitter, where space is limited.

10. The only autism epidemic is one of intolerance.

Do you have any unsubstantiated facts that you believe? Clearly, I do.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2010 in NTs on ASD

 

4 responses to “My Top 10 Opinionated Facts about ASDs

  1. codeman38

    October 15, 2010 at 1:20 AM

    Person first language is a must

    …and what about those of us autistic people who detest person-first language with respect to autism?

     
    • jholverstott

      October 15, 2010 at 3:25 AM

      I can respect that, and I can also say these are “opinions” as disclaimed for a reason.

       
  2. I am human

    October 15, 2010 at 5:13 PM

    I like your angle.
    It’ll be a pleasure to read some more of that type of thoughts.
    I am myself, just starting a blog http://thefutureoftheweirdandreal.wordpress.com/
    Would be lovely to read your comments there also.

    A tolerance promotor and a neurotypical mother of an Aspi boy.

     
  3. C. S. Wyatt

    February 8, 2011 at 1:35 AM

    I would reject #2, personally, as I remained anonymous until 2009, three years into blogging about autism and 41 years into life. I’m not proud of any particular diagnoses or medical conditions. I’ve found the HFA diagnosis to be a problem within the university setting, not a conduit for discussion or understanding. I also do not use the labels common to some forums or groups: autie, aspie, aspergian, and whatever. I simply do not like such made-up words.

    I also don’t understand the first-person language reference. What does that mean?

    Etiology matters to me, since it would influence my approach to research. I wouldn’t mind knowing anything that might help me address particular traits that are both inconvenient and potentially dangerous.

     

Leave a Reply

 
