RSS

Neurotypicality is NOT a compliment

03 Sep

“Just to let you know, I didn’t know your son was on the spectrum, Mrs. Smith,” says a teacher with a smile after eight days in the classroom with her son. The comment was intended to be positive. An indication of normalcy. Applause for a job well done.

NT citizenship is not the holy grail for aspies and auties. Or, their parents. Functionality, happiness, and even acceptance (gasp) are far more goal-worthy.

If a teacher cannot spot ASD, it likely indicates ignorance more than anything else.

On my behalf, I’d like a passport in the world of ASD. Sometimes, I feel like I have been given one — especially, when I hear “compliments” of that nature. Mostly, though, I stand on the border, making it my job to make those trips from the land of ASD to the planet of NT as comfortable as I can.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 3, 2010 in NTs on ASD

 

One response to “Neurotypicality is NOT a compliment

  1. Corina Becker

    October 18, 2010 at 1:23 AM

    I remember disclosing once to a coworker. “Really? You don’t seem Autistic to me” she said.
    “I’m really good at pretending. Plus, my ADHD kinda balances it out,” I replied, completely serious, and then became confused when she burst out laughing. Cause well, I was being serious.

    Now that I think about it, it was kinda funny, and how I delivered the line probably could’ve been a part of it. But seriously, sometimes being ADHD as well as ASD balances things out, sometimes the ADHD and ASD works together, and sometimes both mess me up. It happens, but it’s life. I carry on.

     

Leave a Reply

 
