RSS

Not So Fast: I’d Like to Keep Asperger’s

29 Jan

I have fallen off the face of the blogging Earth for the last I don’t even know how long. I’ve had messages about my health and vitality, as though my silence has suggested that I have disconnected from breathing or working with individuals with ASD. Far from the truth. From the past six months I have been too busy to write anything beyond immediate, work-related items. That’s a nice way of saying I’ve been tired, and, if you’ve read my blog with any regularity, you know that I like to write when passionate, which is usually not when tired.

Over the past three months, I have had a recurring question, theme, concern presented to me: The changes in the DSM-IV-TR that will remove the diagnosis of Asperger’s Disorder in favor of a broader term, yet more diagnostically restrictive diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder. I have written on this topic long, long, long ago. So, why do I return to this topic? Well, to be honest, because about 75% of my clients have Asperger’s Disorder. And, this question KEEPS PLAGUING ME: What does this mean for my child?

I hate my answer.

I don’t know.

Sure, I could hypothesize.

But, will IDEA catch up? I don’t know. I doubt it. It was “just” reauthorized in 2006. In cyberworld, that’s centuries ago. In the legal world, that’s yesterday. For parents with kids with ASD, it’s forever.

Will insurance companies finally do something? Sometime before I die, perhaps. Might be quicker than the reauthorization of IDEA. Maybe someone should take me out. Just trying to expedite things.

If the hope is to stem the tide of increasing diagnostic numbers, not sure it will work. If the hope is to further complicate and bifurcate the ASD community, its focus, treatment, understanding, clarity, awareness, acceptance…. oh, I’m sorry, I have a point…. then, MISSION ACCOMPLISHED.

Yes, the criteria need revamping. We just “borrowed” from Autistic Disorder to explain Asperger’s. Not the smartest idea, but the diagnoses did get rolling.

But, we fought for Asperger’s and now we are going to kill it after 18 years? I’ve had pants, pets, and pairs of scissors longer than that. And, why are we killing it? It’s imperfect, but Hans Asperger had identified something different than Autistic Disorder. Autism is NOT Asperger’s. Yes, they are on the same spectrum, but they are not the same.

If you want my opinion, and I know you don’t, we would replace PDD-NOS with autism spectrum disorder, keep and revamp Asperger’s Disorder, and refine Autistic Disorder.

The APA didn’t ask me. though. Or any of my parents or clients about the loss of Asperger’s. It’s like ripping a bandaid off scraping the surface with sandpaper.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 29, 2012 in ASD in the Grand Scheme

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Not So Fast: I’d Like to Keep Asperger’s

  1. thatawkwardkid93

    January 30, 2012 at 1:05 PM

    As someone with AS and a blog that revolves around it, I’ve been asked my opinion on this subject. While people with AS are on the Autism spectrum, they do not have a severe enough disability for the government to feel they need to fund “special treatment” for Aspies, even if this “special treatment” would help them to transition into an independent, adult life. I, as well as others, I’m sure, appreciate your support of AS.

    Allie.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

